X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bearing and Azimuths - North and South

Hi, Im new to this Bearing and Azimuths coverting system...I need your help please...

How can I convert the following bearings to azimuths by using the North and than South as a reference: N23degreeW N90degreeE N13.2degreeE S11.98degreeW N17degreeS S11degreeW and finally S79.89degreeE

Could someone show me how to do the North and South with the N23degreeW N90degreeE and the rest I will try on my own please...I'm getting
    Last edited by MathBoi; 12-21-2010, 12:42 PM.

Re: Bearing and Azimuths - North and South

Originally posted by MathBoi View Post
    Hi, Im new to this Bearing and Azimuths coverting system...I need your help please...

How can I convert the following bearings to azimuths by using the North and than South as a reference: N23degreeW N90degreeE N13.2degreeE S11.98degreeW N17degreeS S11degreeW and finally S79.89degreeE

Converting Azimuths to Bearings is easy and simple but I'm just confused on converting Bearings to Azimuths...Can anyone help solve my problems?
    Actually, I think those are azimuths and you want bearings. Azimuths are measured 0 - 90 E or W of N and S.

In the true bearing system, N is either 0 or 360, S is 180 and E and W are 90 and 270 respectively. It helps to make a little circle with the 4 quadrants NE, SE, SW, and NW, and a vertical N-S line.

The NE quadrant is clockwise from N, so you add the azimuth to 0 (just use as is).

The SE quadrant is counterclockwise of S, so you subtract the azimuth from 180 (easy with decimal degrees, a minor PITA with degrees/minutes/seconds).

The SW quadrant is clockwise from S, so you add the azimuth to 180.

Finally, the NW quadrant is counterclockwise from north so subtract azimuth from 360