X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Info: Abbreviations in Health Care - cc, ml, mL and g, ug, mcg

This information may someday help to prevent harm to you or someone you care about....

I am not a medical professional, but I thought it would be useful for people to know about a study reported in September 2007 on medication errors caused by misinterpreted abbreviations ("The Impact of Abbreviations on Patient Safety," link below).

The study examined over 640,000 medication errors, of which almost 30,000 were attributable to abbreviations, including cc (cubic centimeters) and g (micrograms).

In the fields of medicine, nursing, and pharmacy--
    cc can be mistaken for U (units) when poorly written
    g can be mistaken for mg (milligrams) when poorly written
    Therefore, in health care, the written abbreviations cc and g are strongly discouraged, and are being considered for inclusion in an official "Do Not Use" list. In some health care facilities, these abbreviations are already forbidden. To reduce errors, the recommended usage is:
    Instead of cc, write ml or mL (milliliters)
    Instead of g or ug, write mcg (micrograms)
    An actual case from the study--
    CASE 2
    A hydromorphone epidural was prescribed for a patient and written as 2 g/mL. The pharmacist incorrectly entered the order as 500 mg in 250 mL and prepared and labeled the medication as 2 mg/mL. The error was perpetuated when the nurse incorrectly interpreted the labeled medication and administered a 1,000-fold dose variance. The patient developed marked respiratory depression requiring intubation and mechanical ventilation...
    Since g is the official abbreviation for the microgram in the SI system of units, it is good to be aware that the recommended usage in health care is quite the opposite.