X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• inches to gallons

How do you convert gallons used out of a 55 gallon steel barrel into inches. I'm an ndustrial painter and use 55 gallon barrels of paint. There are 50 gallons in each barrel. I don't know the starting height, otherwise i could figure this out.

Re: inches to gallons

Originally posted by Unregistered
    How do you convert gallons used out of a 55 gallon steel barrel into inches. I'm an ndustrial painter and use 55 gallon barrels of paint. There are 50 gallons in each barrel. I don't know the starting height, otherwise i could figure this out.
    Well, it would be easier to measure the starting height on a new barrel, but the starting height can be calculated. The inside of the barrel is basically a cylinder, and
    V = (pi/4)*d*d*h where pi = 3.14159, d is the inside diameter, and h is the paint height. However, if dimensions are inches, this is in cubic inches not gallons. There are 231 cubic inches per gallon. So solving for starting height

Hs = (231*50) / ((pi/4)*d*d) = 14709 / (d*d)
    so you just need to measure inside diameter in inches.

Then remaining volume and remaining height of liquid are related as
    V/50 = h/Hs
    (use a dipstick to measure remaining paint, or stir rod)

Comment

Another way of looking at it is that if you have 50 gallons in a 55 gallon drum, it will be a proportion of the height of the drum, if the drum has straight sides. (each gallon will fill it up 1/55 of the height of the drum).

example: if your drum is 40 inches high, then 50 gallons will fill it up to
      40 x 50/55 = 36 inches

30 gallons will fill it up to
      40 x 30/55 = 22 inches

And so on.

Sometimes, you can tell how full they are by tapping on the side, or using an electronic stud finder to work out the level. Then the calculation just goes the other way:

If you have 15 inches left, then you have
      15/40 x 55 = 20.6 gallons.